Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Sex, lies and SEO

Just who is Jay Smith and why is sending me spam?
Hi Paul, We just posted an article, “10 Modern Criminals Who’ve Made a Killing”, I thought I'd drop a quick line and let you know in case you thought it was something your audience would be interested in reading. ( 
Thanks!Jay Smith
When I typed in the URL at, this is what I got:

WHOIS information for :
[Redirected to]
Welcome to the Network Solutions(R) Registrar WHOIS Server.

The IP address from which you have visited the Network Solutions Registrar WHOIS
database is contained within a list of IP addresses that may have failed
to abide by Network Solutions' WHOIS policy.  Failure to abide by this policy can
adversely impact our systems and servers, preventing the processing of
other WHOIS requests.

To see the Network Solutions WHOIS Policy, click on or copy and paste the following
URL into your browser:

If you feel that you have received this message in error, please email us using the online
form at with the following information:

Whois Query:
YOUR IP address is
Date and Time of Query: Thu Jul 28 19:24:48 EDT 2011
Reason Code: IE

My next step was Here's what turned up:

Mavens, LLC, Career
   care of Network Solutions
   PO Box 459
   Drums, PA.  US  18222

   Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
      Mavens, LLC, Career                
      care of Network Solutions
      PO Box 459
      Drums, PA 18222
   Record expires on 04-May-2013.
   Record created on 25-Sep-2008.

   Domain servers in listed order:

   NS2.HOSTMONSTER.COM          69.89.16.

According to, the site is located in Canada and the contact entity is NetVision. On the NetVision site are links to a host of worthless sites with the option to view the site in Dutch.

The website promotes itself as a guide to finding careers in criminal justice. But no matter which career you decide you are interested in, the same three schools are featured: Saint Leo University, American Intercontinental University and Arizona State University. Both SLU and AIU are online schools offering associate's degrees.

So, Jay, I'm sorry, but I have no interest in linking to your website, your article or anything else you're peddling.


Max Kennerly said...

Your post unfortunately does indeed link to them through the cut-and-pasted WHOIS info.

Indeed, even listing the URL — without an appropriate a href code — may influence Google's rankings.

Houston DWI Attorney Paul B. Kennedy, said...

Well that certainly sucks.

Anonymous said...

Try editing the post to "break" the domain name, add spaces.

i.e. CriminaJjusticeDegreesGuide .com